HomeAcademicExam SectionCentral LibraryResultsNotificationsTenders
Chairs/Peethas | Webmail | Sitemap | Enquiries| | IQAC

University Consultancy Cell
  Expand/Collapse MenuAbout KUDAdministrationDepartmentsPG CentersCollegesResearchAmenitiesMore Links
Social Science

Political Science


Political science was taught in this University as part of combined M.A. Degree course in a few Social Science disciplines right from 1950. A fullfledged department of political Science was established in 1959 with late Professor G.S. Halappa as Head of the department. Dr. K. Raghavedra rao, Dr. K.V. Vishwanathaiah, Dr. A.M. Rajshekaraiah and Dr. R.T.Jangam joined the Department later and strengthened the hands of Prof. G.S.Halappa in laying the strong foundation. The Department come to limelight by organizing an International Seminar on ‘Dilemmas of Democracy in India’ in the year 1967. At present, there are seven faculty members. With their scholarly publications and Research, the Department has continued the legacy of the founders.

The Department of Political Science has strengthened teaching and research in such core areas like Political Theory and Research Methodology. It has also accepted the challenge of relevance by encouraging teaching and research in Indian Politics, Karnataka Regional Political Tradition, Federal Studies, International Relations, Political Sociology and Parliamentary and Constitutional Studies. The thrust area of the Department is detailed investigation into the working of grass- root level democracy and its relationship with the democratic system at the regional and national level. Attention is also given to the trends of globalization and international communication technological revolution including internet. In short, the Department may claim to have explored crucial issues of concern and modern politics against the background of interdisciplinary and comparative framework. The department can certainly take pride in the fact that it was able to make a make as a dynamic center for the study of political science at the national and international levels. In this connection, it may be pointed out that the ‘status of Discipline’ report published by the ICSSR, New Delhi made a special mention of the valuable research work including production of Doctoral Theses accomplished by the Department.


• To create an enlightened and responsible generation of citizens with value orientation and Commitment to the larger interests of the Society and the Indian State.
• To strive for the development of a civil society in tune with the participatory democracy.
• To develop norms and ethos rooted in the Indian soil, essentially combining the local and the global virtues.


Over the past many decades of its existence the department of Political Science has been striving to developing advanced curriculum to enhance socially relevant and creative research of contemporary relevance in a globalized world, aiming at inclusive and sustainable growth.

Further to inculcate in the young minds the qualities of compassion, tolerance, humanism and patriotism in an age characterized by evils of corruption, terrorism, communalism and regional fanaticism to propagate the ideas and ideals great political philosophers, gender equity and inter communal harmony in a plural society to build a transparent, accountable and responsive good governance system.

Staff of the Department
Teaching Faculty

Name of Faculty Designation Specialization
1) Dr. S.S.Patagundi
MA, Ph.D
Professor International Studies, Party
System & Political Process.
2) Dr. M.G.Khan
MA, M.Phil,Ph.D
Professor Federal Studies
3) Dr.Harish Ramaswamy
MA, Ph.D
Professor Public Administration & Urban
4) Dr. G.B.Nandana
MA, Ph.D
Professor Indian Political Thought &
5) Dr. G.C.Hiregoudar
MA., Ph.D
Professor & In-charge
Parliamentary & Constitutional
6) Dr. B.M.Ratnakar
MA, Ph.D
Assistant Professor Regional Studies & Political
7) Dr. N.M.Sali
MA, Ph.D
Professor Local Government in Karnataka

Administrative staff

Name Designation Remarks
1)Smt.Rekha N Clerk and Typist Regular
2) Shri. Dharmaraj Y Talawar Attender Contract Basis

The Political Science Association And The Chanakya Alumni Association

For supporting Curricular and Co- Curricular activities of the Department the Political Science Association was established in 1975. Today the Association is able to most of the activities of the Department .During the past 55 years, thousands of students have passed out of the Department and are well placed in the society. The Alumni have established in 2005, the Chanakya Alumni Association in the Department. This Association is supporting the Department in term of infrastructure and academic activities.

Future plans of the department

In the context of problems confronting the functioning of parliamentary democracy, introduction of short term course is significant. In view of this, the department is preparing a proposal to introduce a short term course on Parliamentary Institutions and Procedure for elected representatives. Issues of Human Rights have drawn the attention of the entire world. Protection of Human Rights is significant in the age of globalisation. Therefore, it is also proposed to introduce a certificate course in Human Rights.

As a part of concern of the faculty to reach common people, the department aims at strengthening extension activities as a strategy of strengthening the civil society.

The Department Proposes to sign MOU with UEL (University) of Brazil for collaboration for M.A. Degree and Faculty exchange Programme.

Karnatak University,
Pavate Nagar, Dharwad - 580 003,
Karnataka State, INDIA.

© 2010 - Karnatak University, All rights reserved
Send your Comments to Webmaster

Designed & Developed by Credo Infotech